weblog d’un abbe

20080412

Wanna print to HP LJ 1005 on CentOS

Filed under: Research — abbe @ 1711

I discovered that I need foo2zjs while trying to print to an HP LaserJet 1005 printer (attached to a Windows XP Professional box) from a CentOS 5 client. foo2zjs not only supports HP LaserJet 1005 but also couple of other printers too, so do check out its homepage. Unfortunately there’re no prebuilt RPMs available for this on any repository, so I’ve to hack my own. Anyways, Ubuntu has a package for foo2zjs in their repository, so no worries Ubuntu users.

So the whole episode (i.e. trying to figure out what I’m missing) was frustrating for me. /me thought this earlier, but now I think things like this should happen, so that I’m forced to learn. Anyways happy printing ;)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

